Release Date: November 08, 2011
ISBN: 9781573447195
eISBN: 9781573447324

The Unreal Life of Sergey Nabokov: A Novel

by Paul Russell

In his novel based on the extraordinary life of the brother of Vladimir Nabokov, Paul Russell re-creates the rich and changing world in which Sergey, his family and friends lived; from wealth and position in pre-revolutionary Russia to the halls of Cambridge University and the Parisian salon of Gertrude Stein and Alice B. Toklas. But it is the honesty and vulnerability of Sergey, our young gay narrator, that hook the reader: his stuttering childhood in the shadow of his brilliant brother, his opium-fueled evenings with Cocteau, his troubled love life on the margins of the Ballets Russes and its legendary cast, and his isolation in war-torn Berlin.

A meticulously researched novel, featuring an extraordinary cast of characters (including Picasso, Diaghilev, Stravinsky, Magnus Hirschfield, and of course the master himself, Vladimir Nabokov), this is ultimately the story of a beautiful and vulnerable boy growing into an enlightened and courageous man.

Buy eBook:

eBook purchase options:
About the author Paul Russell

Paul Elliott Russell is the author of seven novels. Two were awarded theFerro-Grumley Award for Fiction, one was chosen as one of the 100 Best Gay and Lesbian Novels by the Triangle Publishing Group, and three were finalists for the Lambda Literary Award. His novels might best be described as dreamy reconstructions of half-recalled nightmares.   He grew up in Memphis, Tennessee, in a neighborhood called Scenic Hills. After graduating from Raleigh-Egypt...

View Profile

Books by Paul Russell

Other books that could interest you

The Back Passage
Best Gay Erotica 2013
Skater Boys: Gay Erotic Stories
Best Gay Romance 2010
Best Gay Erotica 2010
Best Gay Erotica 2006
Best Gay Romance 2013
Best Gay Romance 2012
Biker Boys: Gay Erotic Stories
Boy Crazy: Coming Out Erotica
I Must Confess
The Hardest Thing: A Dan Stagg Mystery